Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Is there a glossary of terms used in Onshape?

john_smith077john_smith077 Member Posts: 175 ✭✭✭
edited January 2016 in General
Hello

Is there a glossary of terms used in Onshape?

I am new to all this and words like "Feature" and "Sketch" have very precise meanings in Onshape. Maybe it could be broken down into:

a) A list of common engineering terms  (e.g. boss, fillet) 
b) A list of common geometry / parametric geometry terms  (e.g. co-incident, Normal, Perpendicular, + basics like: Face, Edge, )
c) A list of common CAD  terms (e.g. Extrude, Sweep, Loft)
d) A list of what Onshape-specifically means by any of the above.  (e.g. Use [tool], Sketch, Part, Model... )

Thanks

J

Tagged:

Comments

• viruviru Member, Developers Posts: 619 ✭✭✭✭
    edited January 2016
    @john_smith077 , You can refer below image in which you will find shortcut key and glossary of term used in Onshape.

• john_smith077john_smith077 Member Posts: 175 ✭✭✭
    edited January 2016
    Thanks - however I think you miss the point I was making. 

That is a useful list of shortcuts. What I was looking for was a formal definition / description of what each term actually means.

P.S. Ah I get it! That very first shortcut  [shift]+[?]  is the possibly most useful...   ;^)

Gads there is so much technical speak/jargon here that I only half under.

Where can I find a glossary?