Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

End conditions for a sweep?

øyvind_kaurstadøyvind_kaurstad Member Posts: 234 ✭✭✭
This may well be a stupid question, but as a CAD newbie, I think I can get away with it.  :-)

Why are there no explicit end conditions for a sweep? Earlier today I was doing something very simple, I wanted to make a pipe from a simple arc, but this pipe was going to have a lining, so I wanted to just make a small internal collar/ridge at the end of the pipe to stop the lining from going all the way through.

I started with a sketch of the pipe profile (just a circle), and then I sketched two more circles inside, one for the hole and one even smaller for the collar/ridge (don't know the proper name for it). Then I sketched an arc on a plane normal to the first one, and used that to sweep the pipe.

Now I wanted to sweep the internal ridge, but I wanted it to stop after just a small distance of the sweep. However, since the sweep insists on following the entire sweep path, that seems not possible. I don't see any other way than to create an identical arc to the first one, but of course a lot shorter, and then use that for the last sweep. That seems cumbersome, so I am wondering why there are no end conditions for a sweep? It could be up to plane, up to vertex, even as a length variable (along sweep path). At least I think that should be possible...

Am I making any sense here?

Comments