Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Making a single part with unique features

Hello,
I've been using Onshape on and off for a couple months now. I'm liking it but feel I'm missing a couple things in regards to part management "best practices".

I mainly draw electronic components, so I'll use that as an example. A simple example is an LED. It has a plastic body with two metal leads coming out of it. I can extrude the plastic body and give it it's correct appearance. As far as I can tell, if I want to extrude the leads with their own relevant appearance, they have to be separate parts within that studio.When I'm all done I end up with 3 parts when it's really only one LED. This makes managing it in an assembly a bit crazy because all of the individual details show up as their own parts.

The only way I've found around the above scenario is adding it to it's own assembly and using the Group function to fix all the components together. Then I can add that assembly to the main assembly. Am I understanding that correctly? I want to develop efficient methods for managing components.

Another piece of advice I'd be grateful for. If I want to have some common components, we'll say hardware, for example. What is the best way to organize these in Onshape? Should I collect them in a document and have the individual screws and nuts in their own part studio?

Thanks for reading,
Mike

Best Answers

Answers