Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Re: workng with multiple parts and the derive feature

I'm new to Onshape.... I have a model imported from SolidWorks that an intern made for me. It has 687 parts that I'm trying to bring into various lower level part studios and then, from there eventually pull together into an assembly. I think I'm following the correct procedure but the resulting performance is slow to the point of being almost unusable. When I go to an empty part studio and use the derive feature no image is available to help with the selection process—all I can see is a list of numbers (that's how my parts came in after import) so I'm not able to identify the parts I want to derive. If I start in the part studio (the one I want to derive the parts from) and select many parts to work with at the same time Onshape becomes exceedingly glitchy to the point of crashing. I did that to quickly hide the parts I am not working with so I could identify the parts I need in a lower level part studio and write them down but unfortunately this turned out not to work well. Even if it had worked it seems an awkward and unacceptable workaround. Finally I was able to produce a list of part numbers that I needed.  When I used the derive feature in a new part studio and input these numbers form my list Onshape is working at an extremely slow speed. Any more than 10 parts at a time and I get a message that Onshape