Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Involute of a circle...

andy_morris900andy_morris900 Member Posts: 8
Hi Peeps,

I shouldn't even be discussing this, seeing as I'm a piping designer by trade and, by rights, I shouldn't even be using a parametric design tool.

Anyway, here I am, getting in far too deep...

I have somehow found myself getting into gear design. At first I was just messing around with a single sketch that contained two simple parts, one inside another. I created parameters which allowed me to change certain sizes on the fly and the outer part also changed so that a clearance was always maintained between the two.

Believe me, and I know you will laugh at this, but I find this fascinating...

Then I came up with the bright idea of, what if I made a very simply two gear train that had a gear box around it that changed size to suit the current gear design.

I could have just messed with extruded circles but I went off and googled "gear design" and a whole new world opened up to me.

Pitch Circe, Base Circle, Module, Addendum, Dedendum... All new terms to me and my brain has been fit to explode!