Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

3D Spline with tangency and weighting control

philip_thomasphilip_thomas Member, Moderator, Onshape Employees, Developers Posts: 1,381
Ok, i am an aeronautical engineer by training and i really wanted 3D splines for lofting wing, propellor and parachute shapes.
Here is a custom feature that does a lot of what i was looking for. The original work was done by Mark Barr and the tangency capability was added by Ilya Baran after i promised to leave him alone if he exposed the functionality. All i did was make it work the way i wanted it to! :)

So, how does it work?
For an open spline, you can now optionally select any edge or sketch entity to define the tangent vector (and optionally flip the tangency direction).
The end of the spline does not have to touch the end of the edge/entity defining the tangent direction.
You can use the same edge/entity for both start and end tangency if you wish.

The weighting of the tangency is proportional to the length of the edge/entity nominated.
There is a variable 'TangencyWeightingFactor' that you may want to change for very large or very small parts.

Best practice?
Use sketch entities to define the tangency/weighting

In this public document, edit the 'Tangency/Weighting' sketch and be sure to select the 'Final' option.