Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Incontext

billy2billy2 Member, OS Professional, Mentor, Developers, User Group Leader Posts: 2,014 PRO
edited January 2017 in General
What is it?

"The ability to design in context within an assembly". Or, more easily stated "Designing in an assembly".

As a design engineer I want all the parts in front of me while I'm designing. All parametric modelers  use assemblies as engineering layouts so incontext is a very important piece of the design process.

When do I use multi-bodies in a part studio and when do I use an incontext reference in an assembly? No one knows yet how this division will breakdown and we'll all have to figure out strategies when architecting new projects. Onshape is nothing like solidworks and solidwork's strategies must be redefined to harness onshape's new capabilities. 

Incontext defined:
Above is a biaxial fixture that stretches rubber samples in 2 directions simultaneously. The highlighted rubber component in the feature tree with the left arrow (incontext marker) was created in the assembly.

Change the assembly:
Above when I move the force gauge upward, the links move and the rubber changes it's size. The rubber piece, by itself, doesn't know how big it's suppose to be and must have access to the assembly. The rubber piece has an incontext reference to the assembly.

How to create incontext: