Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Points along a Curve

frank_weeksfrank_weeks Member, Developers Posts: 6 EDU
I am new to FeatureScript and am looking to create a (seemingly) simple script that places points along a curve, evenly spaced. Without getting into other spacing options, I would first like some guidance on how to do this given only a distance and a quantity, starting from the end.
I tried to dissect the very nice Curve Pattern FeatureScript but there were so many options, I couldn't figure out what part of the code actually does the measuring along the path.
I figure I would use evLength and opPoint (and some math) but that's about as far as I've gotten. Any suggestions to help me move forward would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    lougallolougallo Member, Moderator, Onshape Employees, Developers Posts: 2,001
    @frank_weeks you can look at the multi-plane tool to see how it is done.
    Lou Gallo / PD/UX - Support - Community / Onshape, Inc.
  • Options
    Jake_RosenfeldJake_Rosenfeld Moderator, Onshape Employees, Developers Posts: 1,646
    Hi Frank,

The code for this should be fairly simple.

First, you want to get the total length of the curve with evLength.