Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

3d sketch

Tom_3Tom_3 Member Posts: 2
I'm new to onshape and I've been a solidworks user for 13 years, can you draw a 3d sketch in onshape?

Answers

• Options
    Jake_RosenfeldJake_Rosenfeld Moderator, Onshape Employees, Developers Posts: 1,646
    edited May 2017
    Tom,

Currently we do not have a '3d sketch' feature, but (as of pretty recently) we have ways of defining curves in 3d space.  What is your specific use case for 3d sketching?  Here are some of our new curve features:

https://cad.onshape.com/help/Content/projectedcurve.htm
    https://cad.onshape.com/help/Content/bridgingcurve.htm

You can vote on this improvement request if your would like to see 3d sketching implemented in Onshape:
    https://forum.onshape.com/discussion/comment/18866#Comment_18866
    Jake Rosenfeld - Modeling Team
  • Options
    owen_sparksowen_sparks Member, Developers Posts: 2,660 PRO
    I'm crossing my fingers for 3D spline with match tangency as the next feature in that stable o:)

OwS
    Business Systems and Configuration Controller
    HWM-Water Ltd
  • Options
    mahirmahir Member, Developers Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭✭✭
    @owen_sparks, OS did recently add the Bridging Curve feature, which is just a 2-point spline with tangency matching.
  • Options
    mahir said: