Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Rotate on Fasten

shazznershazzner Member Posts: 3
So I'm having an issue that I feel has already been solved, but since I'm fairly new to CAD I'm not sure what the terminology would be to search for an answer.

I have a part that I'm trying to fasten to a base. It has two holes and it's at an angle with respect to the x-axis:

(Image two holes on the under side)

So selecting one rim on the bottom of the part:

and fastening to the top of the base rim:

I get it mated easily enough:

Now what I hope would happen is that I fasten the other rim to the top of the base rim and the part will automatically rotate to satisfy both mating restrictions.

However when I do that, I just get it translated over:

Bummer! I was hoping the Solve button would fix the issue but no dice. How do it get the part to properly align up?

I've managed to find a sort of 'cheater' solution in by fastening a screw into the hole, then adding a revolve mate, thus allowing me to manually 'swing' it around. Unfortunately fastening another screw doesn't stop the revolving movement. Not a usable solution.

Also manually rotating each one (of twelve) is no fun, they're all at weird arbitrary angles, and fastening them afterwards seems to mess them up somehow.

Any ideas on what to do? Thanks!

Comments

• konstantin_shiriazdanovkonstantin_shiriazdanov Member Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited May 2017