Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Extruding symmetrical elements results in asymmetry?

curtis_vancuracurtis_vancura OS Professional Posts: 18 PRO
edited January 2018 in Community Support
I have a gouge blade (90 degree with 15 degree rake angle) that I am trying to model, and asymmetry is popping up.
The two cut sides should be the same... but one is 90 degrees, and the other has the proper angle.
I have spent hours trying to understand why, and would like some help.
https://cad.onshape.com/documents/5eb8957c9916dd8a2cc31ea6/w/fecf0985abc589292f81dbf9/e/32c73b253da8ed7d3f84b844

...also, a link to how to post in this forum (images, links, etc.) would be helpful...

Thanks, Curtis
Tagged:

Best Answer

Answers

• Options
    Might this be a bug?
  • Options
    jakeramsleyjakeramsley Member, Moderator, Onshape Employees, Developers Posts: 657
    When you look normal to sketch 6 (before the extrusion) you can see that one of the edges of your profile lines up correctly with the edge of the part and the other does not.  When cut away, this will cause it to skew.

You'll want to remove the vertical/horizontal constraints of the sketch, then make the lines coincident with the edges so that they are what the projected edges would be.  From here it should cut at the 15 degree angle.
    Jake Ramsley

Director of Quality Engineering & Release Manager              onshape.com
  • Options