Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

New to CAD, Help Please..

dale_burtondale_burton Member Posts: 5
Hi, 

I’m new to CAD, well, im entirely computer illiterate to be honest. I’m an engineer of sorts, ‘hands on’ type, not into computers and to old to have learnt it at school..

I’m using the Onshape iPad App, Iv managed to draw a cylinder and the through hole and counterbore I wanted, but I can not workout how to set the diameter of the cylinder?
Im also having trouble working out how to select stuff, ie. when making a Hole, i select to make a hole and the drop box says I havnt selected where to put the hole, I then can’t workout how to select the location. The holes I have managed to make have almost been by accident, I can’t seem to do the same thing as before.   

Iv looked for tutorials on getting started with cad, but they all presume you know the basics. Can anyone point me towards a good tutorial for a ‘first day’ student? 

Kind regards
MrD

Best Answers

Answers

• dale_burtondale_burton Member Posts: 5
    Ah fantastic, thank you. Iv managed to set the diameter. 
    I will indeed take a good look at the Fundamentals. Leaning this stuff is extremely daunting but it’s quite addictive when you see the thing coming to life. 
    Thank you for the help, and thank you for making this fantastic program free. 
    Kind regards
    MrD
    Hi All,