Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Improvements to OnShape for artists, natural forms, and more expressive design intent

neobobkrauseneobobkrause Member Posts: 105 EDU
I’m an educator who uses OnShape with students in the studio. I’m also a designer who wants to create objects that users’ can get emotional about. That ability to evoke is an important skill/awareness/talent I strive for in the minds of my students in their 3D design work and elsewhere in their lives. As such, I’m always nudging students to come back with another iteration of a project, this time with a focus on evoking the users’ or viewers’ emotional connection. But students are finding this to be a difficult to impossible task when the design tool they’re using is OnShape.

Wait. Before you vote down this post because you think I’m about to yuck OnShape's yum, hear me out. This post is about why there’s reason for optimism about OnShape’s future. I have concrete capabilities that suggest new abilities that all OnShape users will benefit from - artists in particular. I want to encourage the OnShape product team to consider the strategic market potential possible if the product roadmap is expanded to include some of these additional capabilities and an evolution in mindset across its development teams to more fully consider the value that emotional impact can have on almost all design. 

* Richer Curve Repertoire and Support