Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Clearance for mating threads

Esrever_reenigneEsrever_reenigne Member Posts: 6 EDU
edited August 2018 in Drawings
Hi everyone, I'm new to Onshape & this is my first post.

I feel a bit silly asking such a simple question but I've had several failed attempts so I thought I'd ask the pros.

I'm trying to model some mating threads (metric) for 3D printing and they all seem to look good in the drawing but the clearances are too tight and the nut never fits the male thread when I print them.

I've tried modeling the male thread and then creating the female part by doing a boolean subtract on the female mating part. Setting a bigger offset on the boolean subtract seems to destroy the thread form and I can't seem to set an offset bigger than 0.4mm with the thread I'm trying to offset.

I've also completely modeled the female part from scratch (allowing clearance on the root diameter of the male thread) and swept a thread with the same thread form and it still didn't fit after it was printed. I'm sure I could tinker with my clearances and get it to work without too much trouble this way but I didn't pursue that as it seemed like a lot of extra work.