Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Projected curves with complex intersections - how to achieve a sweep?

chris_thornborrowchris_thornborrow Member Posts: 6
edited February 15 in Community Support
Hello folks,

I am a beginner at Onshape and its my first post. I have searched the forums and web but to no avail. I hope someone can help.  
As you see I have a vase like object onto which I have projected dxf imported curves from inkscape. My goal is to have the curves become the 3d paths for a sweep for the little triangle on the right (3mm base).
I wrote a simple test file on a sphere using a projected curve but of course I did not self intersect the curves before proceeding. Now I've spent many many hours and there are hundreds of curves here- I simply cant do each one by hand. Worse, they are designed to intersect (which I discovered this evening is not supported in Onshape) so I cant just do them all together. Can anyone help? Is there a feature script to go through each curve one at a time maybe?

https://cad.onshape.com/documents/6de887b538ee1a30cdd4481c/w/3cfe0f8c6a49e42a85b5abdc/e/8402d9dafc501dca890fcf47

Failing this does anyone know Fusion360 and (if I learn that) could this be done in 360?

Yours, a little desperately,

Chris
(ps note the curves and profiles are on the inside surfaces of the vase -deliberately).

Answers

• Options
    chris_thornborrowchris_thornborrow Member Posts: 6