Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

How to move a sketch. Not transform, just MOVE it

alex_k506alex_k506 Member Posts: 6
Hi,

3-day old noob here and having the hardest time with the simplest things.

I designed a cabinet door with a handle that I want to mirror. Of course, being at it for only 3 days, I placed the sketch for the door and handle at an arbitrary distance from the Right plane (let's say it's 2" for the sake of argument).

I need to mirror this door. So far so good, except the reflection is 4" apart from the original.

Being so new to this, I know I'm going to have to move a ton of things around, and if I use the Mirror or transform tools I'm going to end up with a gazillion entries for transformations which will only uselessly clutter the features list.

How can I just grab this door and JUST MOVE IT a specific distance without having to create a transform?????

Thanks!

Answers

• Options
    nick_papageorge073nick_papageorge073 Member, csevp Posts: 731 PRO
    Go inside the sketch for the door and change the dimensions to the Right plane, to the number you would like.
  • Options
    Jed_YeiserJed_Yeiser Member Posts: 21 PRO