Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Trouble sweeping a thread profile over a tapered spiral for BSPT thread.

chris_dalbychris_dalby Member Posts: 13 ✭✭
I am new to Onshape and having come from TurboCad, I am finding it a steep learning curve.

I have created a tapered cylinder and then a spiral in an attempt to create a BSPT thread but I am having trouble sweeping the thread profile to "cut" the thread.
I get an error, "Sweep did not regenerate properly: could not create valid swept body, check input <-Thread profile [sketch]".

I have looked at the thread profile sketch and cannot see where the problem is.

Can anyone help?

https://cad.onshape.com/documents/9238344ed16caf34f2427eca/w/1d6eeef2ef5fac13a13b4ff8/e/f30186e383d1382beb982cb4

Best Answers

• chris_dalbychris_dalby Member Posts: 13 ✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Thanks to you both, Neil and Dave.

This did the trick. Can fix my other drawing now :-)

Answers

I got tired of trying to sort that out so I changed the spiral and tapered cylinder to the thread minor dia and tried to add the sweep. Still no good but it would allow me to sweep a new part so thats the way I went.

Not the result I wanted but time is precious.
  • bradley_saulnbradley_sauln Moderator, Onshape Employees, Developers Posts: 373
    Engineer | Adventurer | Tinkerer
    Twitter: @bradleysauln