Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Using qCapEntity with a manually generated body

wickedDesignswickedDesigns Member Posts: 6
Hi.  I am very new to both Onshape and FeatureScript, and I'm hoping I may be missing something obvious here.  

Is there a way to use qCapEntity to locate the cap of a body which was generated via an Extrude or Thicken in the PartStudio?  All the examples I can find use a body generated within the FeatureScript (and thus with an easily accessible id).

Answers

• Jake_RosenfeldJake_Rosenfeld Moderator, Onshape Employees, Developers Posts: 1,646
    @wickedDesigns

Glad you're interested in using FeatureScript! I've put together an example for you:

https://cad.onshape.com/documents/2bb4fa9d4317eec5da349d7d/w/9c24a855848fba9c81f10475/e/92e65b491b1834951eaf6875

Here I have the user select what features they want the cap entities for, then use their selections as input to the qCapEntity function.
    (If you copy this and edit the "Select Cap 1" feature you will see that while you are editing the start caps of the selected features are colored in red.  This is what the "debug()" function does when given a Query as input).
    Jake Rosenfeld - Modeling Team
  • wickedDesignswickedDesigns Member Posts: 6
    I was hoping there might be a way to do this without additional input from the user, some sort of query that would look for bodies which were generated by an extrude or a thicken.