Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Best practice: Modelling a part in relation to the assembly or not?

ts_sklettts_sklett Member Posts: 9
(I'm new to CAD)

I started what I thought would be a straightforward modelling project and I quickly found that I'm stumbling on how to "think" of parts spatially. I have a machine that has a left and right matched die set, the dies come together to seal a bag. I need to model these dies so I can make some modifications and make a backup set, it's also a good OnShape exercise for me.

The problem I'm having now is how to position these parts (not assemblies) in OnShape.
Is it more common to model:
  1. Relative to the operator/mechanic of the machine (i.e. how you commonly look at the parts and visualize them). In this case I would model my right die as it is installed in the machine, and my left die would be modeled in mirror.
  2. Or is it more common to think of parts as free standing things, without context or orientation?