Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

How do we create accurate sketches from API or imports or?

kiwileekiwilee Member Posts: 8
Hi Guys,

Sorry if this question is really obvious. I am just getting started with OnShape.
I usually work with SolidEdge ST7 in 100% Synchronous mode (I see no need for Parametric for any of my work... unless the software forces me to).

I'm trying to bring accurate Airfoil profiles into a sketch so I can then loft them along a rail or 3d sketch.
I can add a svg to my project but can't for the life of me get it into the sketch.
Obviously a very basic requirement.
So how do I do it.

Any complex 2D drawing will usually be generated outside of the software then brought in.
For Gears I can do this linked within Solidedge and the gears and relationships are live 3D parts.

So how do you guys bring in a 2D file for use in a sketch?

Best Answers

• philip_thomasphilip_thomas Member, Moderator, Onshape Employees, Developers Posts: 1,381
    Answer ✓
    Whenever airfoils come up - I feel compelled to write something :)
    Here at Onshape, there are two people with advanced degrees in Aeronautical Engineering - I am one of them.
    All the questions listed in this thread come up form time to time and whilst I am not making policy statements here, I can give some insight into why we have done what we have and probably more pertinently, why we haven't.