Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Differences between Onshape and Solidworks

michael_stallsmichael_stalls Member Posts: 59 PRO
I have been using Onshape pretty extensively for about 2 years and and i feel like i have a pretty solid grasp of it now. I have had previous professional experience using Catia V5. I haven't really used Solidworks before but i know the people who developed Onshape are the same people who originally developed Solidworks so there must be a fair bit of similarity between them. I see lots of jobs advertised Here in Australia for experienced Solidworks users if your an experienced Onshape User would you be able to pick up Solidworks quickly and apply for these jobs? I am quite happy with Onshape myself and dont plan on springing for a Solidworks licence.  But i need some extra income and there seems to be much more work going for solidworks users at the moment.
Cheers
michael

Comments

• Options
    mahirmahir Member, Developers Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited January 2018
    All CAD programs have their eccentricities. But once you know how to design well in one software, learning another CAD app is just a matter of figuring out which buttons to push. Not to mention, in my opinion both SW and OS are pretty easy to learn relative to other programs, and I've used Catia, Creo, Inventor, SW, and OS.