Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Changes To Onshape's Plans

123457»

Comments

• øyvind_kaurstadøyvind_kaurstad Member Posts: 234 ✭✭✭
    I've also signed up for the Leopard beta, but I haven't been let in yet. Anyway, I'm still learning F360, and I agree the UI is more clunky than OS, but I am getting used to it. At this point, I'm not sure I would return to OS even if they had reverted this (IMO) stupid decision. Maybe, maybe not.

The one thing I miss the most from OS in F360 is the Final-button, that allows a preview of the rebuilt feature tree when editing a feature. I used this quite a lot in OS, and I miss it.
  • nyholkunyholku Member Posts: 58 PRO
    While I've given up on Onshape (not used it since the announcement) this thing keeps turning in my mind.

Lately I've been thinking about this pricing model, especially in context of cloud based application.

As hobbyist with reasonable income from day job I can afford easily my little hobbies. I have a nice little workshop with CNC plasma, two lathes and a decent size milling machine and everything that goes with them.

So I'm willing pay several $1000 for a tool just to 'enjoy' it.

When I die my heiress will sell the lathes and things but the software is worth nothing.

Further my machine tools may lay dormant for months, even years, but they are there when the inspiration strikes.