Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

How to model a big project?

First of all, shout out to the OnShape team! Thank you guys for creating such a revolutionary modeling tool, wish you all the best in the new year!

To begin this discussion, I would like to set a few background information:
1. I am new to 3-D modeling with Standard subscription. I have taken all the instructor-led courses as well as self-paced courses.Overall, I have general understanding of the skills but not yet fully comprehended them.  
2. For the sake of this conversation, consider this "big project" as "building a house". This house is already built, which means detailed Structure, Electrical and Plumbing drawing are all available.

My goal is to re-create this house in OnShape based on available drawings. I wish to practice the knowledge learned through the courses via this re-creation process. I think this would be a good way to become better at modeling and build my "designing sense".

All I know at this stage is I want to model this house in 3 portions(structural, electrical, plumbing) as this allows me to hide irrelevant portions when I talk to specific contractor. 
(Please note: I use "3 portions" on purpose because I have not yet fully understand when to use "part studio", "assembly" or perhaps "multi-part part studio")

I know I sounded clueless, but that's how I felt at the moment.

Naturally my questions are: