Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Is there a way to move/position parts in an assembly without mates?

olaf_huber644olaf_huber644 Member Posts: 10 PRO
I am quite new to onshape, went already through several tutorials and now wonder:
How can I move/transform parts in an assembly without using mates?
Imagine such a layout were I want position blocks and switch between with named positions:
e.g.
"all in line A"
"red in line B, rest in line A" (as in the picture)
"red in line C, rest in line A"
And so on...
I tried with mates and suppressing/unsuppressing in Combination with named positions.
But that seem not to work.
I also tried dragging the triade, but that only seem to work with entering values for transform/rotate and to orient the triade on the part occurency.

This is a test use case but the idea is:
How can I simulate/animate a certain sequence?
E.g. for a presentation I want to animate a sequence for a tool change with several steps:
1. Move red block from a A1 to C1
2. Move yellow block from A2 to B1
3. etc.
Is Onshape capable of such functions?

Best Answer

Answers

• emagdalenaC2iemagdalenaC2i Member, Developers, Channel partner Posts: 858 ✭✭✭✭✭
    II think you'll have to wait for assembly-level configurations to be added to Onshape  :/

And then you can not simulate / animate that sequence. But you can create that simulation with other applications