Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

HOW CAN I CONNECT MULTIPLE DIFFERENT LINES TO MAKE A CONTINUOUS ONE?

grace_kellygrace_kelly Member Posts: 2
I'm creating the outline of a ring on OnShape and getting ready to extrude it, however, the outline is made up of 6 separate lines. I am trying to figure out how to connect these lines to make a continuous line, however, I'm a bit stuck.
(P.S I'm very new to OnShape so if the answer is really obvious, I apologise in advance.)

**I want the 6 lines in the outer line to be connected, rather than to all be separate, this way i'll be able to extrude it.**

Comments

• Options
    owen_sparksowen_sparks Member, Developers Posts: 2,660 PRO
    Hi and welcome :+1:
    The important thing here is not that they're one line, but they're they're coincident. (ie meet exactly at a point.)
    If you do that the inner part of your sketch will turn grey, indicating you have an enclosed "sketch region".  It's this region we'll extrude...

There are some great examples and webinar recording for learning this stuff.  Have a look for sketch basics or sketch fundamentals.

Feel free to shout with any questions as you come to them.
    Cheers, Owen S.
    Business Systems and Configuration Controller
    HWM-Water Ltd
  • Options
    john_mcclaryjohn_mcclary Member, Developers Posts: 3,898 PRO
    You also don't need to worry about trimming etc.