Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

"True scale" viewing

dan_engererdan_engerer Member Posts: 63 PRO
Hi. As a design engineer, I'm sure we've all had the shocking experience when you prototype a part and the size is dramatically different than what you were expecting. This is a natural part of using CAD if you aren't careful, because being zoomed into a non-perspective model all the time is not exactly realistic. This can result in novice designers creating things which are way too large or way too small. 

Is there a way to view objects on the screen in a "true" scale, meaning the literal size on the screen is what you'd see if you 3D printed the part and laid it right up against your screen? 

Comments

• steve_shubinsteve_shubin Member Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭✭

@dan_engerer

You answered your own question. The only thing different you need to do is instead of putting the part up next to the screen, put a ruler up to the screen.

With one of your 3-D parts showing, use the show dimensions command on one of your sketches and then zoom in or zoom out on that model to where the dimension line in Onshape matches what’s on your ruler.

If you were working in millimeters and your ruler is inches, then just go and temporarily change the units so that inches will show

• Paul_J_PremakumarPaul_J_Premakumar Member, Onshape Employees Posts: 197