Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Rod end bearing mating

SkippySkippy Member Posts: 50 ✭✭
Hi, im very new to CAD and onshape and im having trouble with something thats probably very simple. 

Im trying to model a knife sharpener and i need the rod to slide back and forth through the centre of the ball end joint but also for the ball end joint to rotate so that you have a full range of motion with the rod.

I have set the centre of the ball end joint to a ball mate with the body of the joint and then set a slider mate between the rod and the centre of the joint and the body as fixed. All i get from this is the rod sliding back and forth with no rotation. What mates would i use to get the motion im trying for? 

Thanks all.

Answers

• cadmandocadmando Member Posts: 68 ✭✭
    Hi Nick
    Try using Cylindrical mate in place of the Slider Mate, it worked for me on my Roof Access Hatch, I will send you a message so you can send me your email to Share so you can take a look.

Graham D Midgley (CadManDo)
  • brucebartlettbrucebartlett Member, OS Professional, Mentor, User Group Leader Posts: 2,137 PRO
    Hi Nick,

Great to see you giving Onshape ago. Will be ideal for model engineers.

@Cadmando is right, a cylindrical mate will work. You will have to setup the 2 mate connectors first. Mating in Onshape does take a bit of getting use but once you do it is quite quick to use.