Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Newb Question? - Paraboloids

marc_cromptonmarc_crompton Member Posts: 10 EDU
I'm a teacher wanting to help students integrate their math curriculum into something more hands on through CAD.  The students already use Onshape at a basic level and have studied quadratic equations in math.  I'd like them to be able to design physical objects using some level of coding, specifically, I'd like them to calculate parabolic nose cones in Onshape.  I can show them how to do this in OpenSCAD, and then move the geometries into Onshape, but I'd like to see if they can work directly with FeatureScript as well.  Has anyone done this successfully here?  Can someone point me to a resource that might walk me through this project (or something similar)?

Comments

• kevin_o_toole_1kevin_o_toole_1 Onshape Employees, Developers, HDM Posts: 565
    The function you want in FeatureScript is skConicSegment. It's is marked "internal" in std (generally meaning not yet meant for production use) but I believe that can be updated since the function is now stable and in production use, so you can certainly feel free to use it.

Here's an example FeatureScript feature making a parabola:
    https://cad.onshape.com/documents/37b0e0b35735ff60b372cf33/w/4d836e6c27ced4be10e74f0e/e/a53a863c4036a3a1d3f0ef6d