Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Boat hull loft issues

gary_brattongary_bratton Member Posts: 5
https://cad.onshape.com/documents/aa6cb8f78801d49f32d59bff/w/f4d61d0aa6eadd558fd470ec/e/8f23d404b4dac0e4b26353e1
I am new to CAD, but old at boat building.  I suspect some of my spline and lofting on plywood floors may be messing with my digital education.  I have been working on this simple hull form for almost 2 weeks now.  At various times and versions, I have been able to generate the loft, and others I can not.  Why remains a mystery to me.  This version will generate the loft until I add the guides from the hull shear and the bottom of the hull, and it breaks with a very general message.  I have read through the forum, done all the tutorials, and done extensive web searches for ideas, but it still seems to break for random reason and at random times.  I am sure the random comes from my lack of understanding, but if someone experienced could look at this drawing, I sure would appreciate the help.

Comments

• billy2billy2 Member, OS Professional, Mentor, Developers, User Group Leader Posts: 2,014 PRO
    edited April 2020
    Do not use the edges of the boat to define loft. Get the shape right and then trim.

Don't mess up the hull's shape by using the edges. Separate these actions.

https://cad.onshape.com/documents/9572301d7acb5524edc095ba/w/a34715327e7e7cbb159e8f70/e/42dd210b940abe9fa667c2f2