Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

How to Change/Edit Parts Without Disabling Mates

loic_billautloic_billaut Member Posts: 5 EDU
edited May 2020 in Community Support
I am new to Onshape and can't figure out how to edit parts of an assembly without creating errors for mates associated with that part. 

Perhaps I am not creating mates in a way that would allow me to edit the parts associated to it? I have tried creating mates in the part studio too but that doesn't seem to solve the problem of the mates not automatically connecting in the assembly. 

For example, in the attached image all connections between the top/bottom boards and vertical bars are revolute mates. If the vertical bars are rotated to the horizontal position the boards will thus come together. In this assembly, if the vertical bars are extruded downwards to be longer and create a larger gap between the boards, the revolute mates between the bottom board and vertical bars will be red and "unsolvable". I then need to go into editing each of those mates to re-mate the mate connectors. 

I would greatly appreciate any help in regards to making edits to parts without creating errors for the mates connected to that part. 

Thanks 

Answers

• john_mcclaryjohn_mcclary Member, Developers Posts: 3,890 PRO