Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Paired CAD for learning, inspired by pair programming for coding

Hi folks,
I'm an engineering researcher at the University of Toronto, interested in studying collaboration in CAD, as well as CAD learning. Something we're working on is looking at partnered CAD; we're inspired by the popular method of pair programming https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pair_programming in the field of computer programming (here's a really cool long-read about a famous pair programming duo at Google: https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2018/12/10/the-friendship-that-made-google-huge). Onshape has lots of functionality, like Follow Mode, that makes this pair CAD idea a reality. 

Do any instructors have experience pairing up their students to learn CAD, in-person or virtually? Do you have thoughts on whether we could expect to see the learning, and positive experience, in pair CAD?

Comments

• Ste_WilsonSte_Wilson Member Posts: 198 EDU
    Follow mode?  What where how?
    I've not heard of pair programming but will go and have a read now.  Quick question...is it suitable for a socially distant classroom?

• brian_bradybrian_brady Member, Developers Posts: 505 EDU

Do any instructors have experience pairing up their students to learn CAD, in-person or virtually? Do you have thoughts on whether we could expect to see the learning, and positive experience, in pair CAD?
    @alison_olechowski392