Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Better way to make a whiffle ball?

josh_smith_josh_smith_ Member Posts: 2 EDU
Hi, I'm relatively new to Onshape and I wanted to practice by making a whiffle ball. 
I know how to make the holes manually by making individual planes and extrudes that way, but I was told there was a faster way to do this. 
Does anyone have advice for me here?

Answers

• larry_haweslarry_hawes Member Posts: 478 PRO
    VERY NICE JOSH...
  • matthew_stacymatthew_stacy Member Posts: 475 PRO
    @josh_smith_, very nice work on this model!

I've got a couple thoughts that you might consider.  In Sketch 1 it appears that your design intent is to specify the diameter of this ball, whereas Onshape dimensions arcs radially.  There are ways to bend Onshape to your will.  Anytime you create a center-line (dashed construction line), even temporarily, you can dimension the full-section width (in this case diameter).  That detail is included in the B1 branch of a copy of your model:  https://cad.onshape.com/documents/a312b778ba60017c09b410ce/w/81bea7f7f3dc41e49d067e24/e/817ee6927fb472d322e04801