Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Passing configured dim from part to sub to full assembly?

Anne_NixonAnne_Nixon Member Posts: 4 PRO
Hi All, newbie here but I'm loving this platform. I'm trying to put a bunch of subassemblies in a line in an assembly and I want the space between them to be even despite their varied sizes so that they look nice and neat. The math is 1/2(width of part n + width of part n+1) = spacing. I have all my widths defined in a configuration table in the base parts. Is there a way to pass the width variable from the part to the mate definition in the assembly? I do this make a line of things task all the time, so it's not ideal to calculate the spacing by hand each time. 

Hope that was clear - I'm still getting the lingo down. TIA! 

Comments

• Options
    Anne_NixonAnne_Nixon Member Posts: 4 PRO
    Sorry, I should clarify, that math gets you to spacing n, since the spacing will be different. I know how to make the space the same size all the time! :smiley:
  • Options
    romeograhamromeograham Member, csevp Posts: 657 PRO