Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Seeking eyes on this design! (Total Newbie)

Hello! 
I'm in an ENGR 101 class and our final project is to design a desktop organizer. Our teacher did a sink or swim sort of thing to see what we could teach ourselves about the program, and I think I'm doing pretty good for having not really touched it before. 
However, we have to set it up for laser engraving and I'm not sure how to make the tabs, other than manually adding them one at a time, and subtracting them, is that the right way to do it? 
Does anyone see any real obvious mistakes on this? I wasn't sure how to make it a solid piece, so my idea is to glue the left and right parts together. The flap *should* have the ability to pull up and expose the inside of the box...
Here is my design: 
https://cad.onshape.com/documents/75db4c2837e7d077bd9e40cb/w/f91d9bc401bba767a2b882a6/e/857f73a15bbbf131dcf834a8

Thanks, friends! :D 
I'm super excited to join this community and learn more! 

Answers

• Options
    tim_hess427tim_hess427 Member Posts: 648 ✭✭✭✭
    Hi @elizabeth_schmidt

I think this looks pretty good for a first time! A few thoughts come to mind:
    • It looks like the "flap" is supposed to rotate when it's assembled, right? I think it may interfere with the front lip on the box.