Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Is there a dictionary to translate from Solidworks to Onshape?

S1monS1mon Member Posts: 2,379 PRO
I’ve been using CAD for 30+ years, but I’m still getting up to speed in Onshape. I follow the forums, I’ve gone through a bunch of the training materials, YouTube channel etc, searched a lot with Google but I haven’t quite found a dictionary to translate commands I know in Solidworks into their equivalents in Onshape. There are some videos and a few blog posts that kinda touch on this, but there isn’t a simple thing which would tell me Untrim:Solidworks::Move Boundry:Onshape.

The closest I found was this https://youtu.be/n-d18HHTIE8 which @NeilCooke did back in 2018. 

Ideally this would be some help docs which are easy to search.

Answers

• Options
    alnisalnis Member, Developers Posts: 449 EDU
    edited September 2021
    Searching the toolbar with Alt C will give you results based on synonyms from other CAD systems.

Untrim will suggest move boundary, combine will suggest boolean, etc.
    Student at University of Washington | Get in touch: contact@alnis.dev | My personal site: https://alnis.dev
  • Options