Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Assembly constraints for basic blocks

hans_bollenhans_bollen Member Posts: 8
edited December 2021 in Community Support
Hallo Onshapers,

I'm new in Onshape and a professional mechanical engineer using 'other cad' for decades, Therefore, I believe I make good Onshape learning progress in one week of time. I know : Learning cad is both trial and error, and reading the manuals. Which really helps. But despite of and probably due to my extensive cad experience, I do not manage to assemble the shelfs in my birdhouse hbinb_00131. What I do expect is assembly constraints touch face to face and align face to face. With 3 of them I can constrain one plate to another. How to do this in Onshape ? I learned in https://learn.onshape.com/learn/article/mating-basics that I only need one mate action. Which one. And how ?

Thanks in advance

Hans

Answers

• steve_shubinsteve_shubin Member Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2021
    @hans_bollen

https://cad.onshape.com/documents/7497a8ae22e85beec5975064/w/a954dce1efb5f3e682fb1506/e/bb1c9fb3523a43e9d6df1a60

I EDITED the mates you had. I changed the planar mates to fastened mates

Now nothing moves as the parts are all fastened (locked) together

Is this what you were looking for ?

• tim_hess427tim_hess427 Member Posts: 648 ✭✭✭✭