Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

FS query circular edge on face

imants_smidchensimants_smidchens Member Posts: 62 EDU
Hi! I'm relatively new to featurescript, and I'm wondering if there's a way to query an interior circular edge (or ideally an edge loop) on selected faces (plus also the outer loop of edges on that face). I'm writing a tool that makes 3D printing some geometry more reliable, namely counter-bored or pocketed holes that would normally necessitate printing with supports. The idea is to modify those faces into bridging layers that set up the structure for the part and result in cleaner prints. Below are two images showing what the tool would ideally accomplish in terms of modifying faces:

Thanks!

Comments

• MBartlett21MBartlett21 Member, OS Professional, Developers Posts: 2,034 EDU
    edited March 2022
    Maybe something using connectedComponents (Standard Library Documentation (onshape.com)) to get the edge loops, and then filtering specific edge loops?

You should be able to use qLoopEdges (Standard Library Documentation (onshape.com)) to get the outside edge loop.
    mb - draftsman - also FS author: View FeatureScripts
    IR for AS/NZS 1100
  • imants_smidchensimants_smidchens Member Posts: 62 EDU