Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Connecting two configuration inputs

I'm very new to OnShape. I'm coming from SOLIDWORKS and trying to port over a part that was driven by a design table with a vlookup and some other excel functions. Essentially I'm trying to connect two configuration inputs together.

I built a table that has a series of wood profiles that control the geometry of a cross-section. And I have a lot of configurations that take one of a few cross-sections and extrude it to a configuration-specific length.

And I've been trying to find a way to map a profile to each configuration. i.e. have my "2X6 STANDARD STUD" pull the info for its 2x6 cross-section from the table below and be configured to 105.5" at the configuration level. 

The "Configured Properties" tab to the right looks like it would do exactly what I'm looking for, where I can select a profile for each configuration from a drop-down.

But when I try and insert the part into an assembly, the cross-section is still editable and not locked to a configuration. I feel like I'm missing something super obvious.

Answers

• Options
    Nath_McCNath_McC Member Posts: 114 PRO
    If you create a configuration in the assembly, you can edit that configuration to select which option you want. For example, create a cross-section configuration within the assembly.