Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Master control sketch, I think?!

andy_makerandy_maker Member Posts: 4
I am a Boomer, hobbyist and a complete noob being self-taught in Onshape over just the last few weeks.  Nonetheless, thank you Onshape for sharing such a brilliant saas with hobbyists like me.  And, much deep respect to those of you who do this everyday.

As below illustrated, I inadvertently did something that caused my construction lines to show up on ALL part studios including imported files.  Right or wrong, I laid out my initially anticipated construction lines and subsequently duplicated the studio three times keeping these construction lines as the initial sketch in each.  I Projected these construction into subsequent sketches as usable (e.g. non-construction) lines, but when later modifying them and being confronted with over-definitions, I often lazily just deleted the projection linkages rather than track down the conflict. 

As the design evolved, I ended up with most of my key elements rotated 45deg.  I could not find/eliminate all necessary constraints that would to allow me to rotate the entire studio so I started to redraw some of these elements as shown to the right of the origin point in the below, rightmost graphic.