Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Help me design an Astrié Grain Mill !

jacques_spillmannjacques_spillmann OS Professional Posts: 54 PRO
edited January 17 in Community Support
Help needed!
I am a mechanical engineer with a problem, when I do something I want to do it right, with purpose and in the best way possible.
And the more I dig into a problem, or challenge, the more I discover things are not as simple as they seemed.
I've been making bread at home for about 10 years now but only recently (<2 years) started to make my own flour at home from wheat berries I buy at my local specialized store (in Los Angeles).
Milling wheat on demand is a game changer, making bread tastier and with more structure. Try to make bread from store bought flour that was milled weeks or months ago and results will be less than best, the dough won't rise as much and the taste will be weak.
And, that problem again, anything else than the best becomes unacceptable once you have tasted the potential for perfection (a simple baguette in a reputable Parisian boulangerie is one example of perfection).

The current milling setup I use today is far from ideal, it is slow, heats up the flour a bit and grinds the wheat berries like a coffee grinder would grind beans.