Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

creating documents that I own even though I'm on a company plan

I use a free onshape account for some hobby projects. I'm also an independent contractor. As part of this work, a company has added my account to their paid subscription so that I can work on private projects for them. However, now whenever I create a new document, it is owned by them and I can't change it. Is there some way around this besides creating a new email address and a new onshape account?

Comments

• Options
    NeilCookeNeilCooke Moderator, Onshape Employees Posts: 5,370
    edited November 2019
    The only way around this is to ask a company admin to transfer ownership of specific docs to you. The doc will still be shared with the company unless you unshare the doc once you've taken ownership.
    Senior Director, Technical Services, EMEAI
  • Options
    MBartlett21MBartlett21 Member, OS Professional, Developers Posts: 2,034 EDU
    If you create a folder and get them to transfer ownership to you, you can then create your documents inside that folder and they will be owned by you.
    mb - draftsman - also FS author: View FeatureScripts
    IR for AS/NZS 1100
  • Options
    owen_sparksowen_sparks Member, Developers Posts: 2,660 PRO
    (a)Did this change? I'm sure it used to ask you who you wanted a new doc to be owned by?