Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

SubAssemblies losing mating info. Are we doing this correctly?

lb_corneylb_corney Member Posts: 3
I'm relatively new to OnShape.  I'm working with a team of folks on a volunteer Covid-19 volunteer project .  We're open source and this seems a great opportunity to learn and use the platform.   I understand from this posting (and comment from philip_thomas ) that importing assemblies from Solidworks is problematic.  I understand and I can work with that.  

• Subassembly created in Solidworks and imported to OnShape
  • Solidworks: Pack and Go, Zip, Flatten, arrives with all mating info as described.
  • in Onshape, fix big part (electronic perf board), add mates (a microphone element), group pieces together.  
  • Part looks good, pieces react as expected. You can spin the microphone but you can't translate it in any axis. That's fine. 
Part looks like this: 

Now go to create a final assy.  There will be lots of parts and components here.  Import the Microphone/perfboard subassembly.   This didn't work out so well.  Even though the mate info was created within OnShape, its all gone again.  Am I doing this right?