Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Solidworks user considering Onshape, some questions on its ability to handle large assemblies

scott_mayfieldscott_mayfield Member Posts: 3
Hi All,

I’m a physician by day, but I moonlight as a high end camper builder. Here is a link to the last project I finished and sold.

https://expeditionportal.com/expedition-portal-classifieds-award-winning-f550-full-custom-camper/

Ive been doing all of the design work in Solidworks, but I am running into some computing limitations. My models themselves are pretty simple, but I am working on a dell precision 7720 laptop that is limited to 16gb of ram. While my models are simple, they are mated to the cad models from Ford and Isuzu which are quite large and complex. I’m currently working on a ford transit build and the model is 200gb with an inordinate number of surfaces. I talked to puget sound about building me a new rig, but that would be in the 5-6k range on top of the Solidworks pricing. Because this isnt really a money maker for me, just cant totally justify that kind of expenditure, and to be honest, I’m tired of the constant updating and sharing models with other users with a different year of Solidworks.