Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Problem using Thicken on a simple surface

john_robinson568john_robinson568 Member Posts: 12
Hi All,

I've been using onshape for a few months now and have been getting the hang of it, but today I ran into a problem that has me stumped. 

I have created a simple surface using a sweep. The sketches used to define the profile and path for the sweep are mostly constrained, but are simple with no sharp corners. If I try to use thicken on the surface in the inward direction, it fails. However if I mirror the surface, I can use thicken on the mirrored surface without any issues. 

Could someone take a look at this really simple document and give me some hints please?

https://cad.onshape.com/documents/0824b97bad2a52c026499cde/w/4d7a37b5aa599b4ab4e6ef7d/e/1628b5a69b6ab5e46d8edaf8?renderMode=0&uiState=61fb6f29307158015c87649b

Many thanks, John

Comments

• Options
    brooke_spreenbrooke_spreen Member, Developers Posts: 115 ✭✭✭
    Gave it a shot, but no luck. Strange that extra faces are being created on the underside of the successfully thickened part. Would guess this delves into the mysterious world of surface quality...
    Design Engineer | Anerdgy AG
  • Options
    NeilCookeNeilCooke Moderator, Onshape Employees Posts: 5,399
    Can that point on the left be removed? Causing horrendous curvature

Senior Director, Technical Services, EMEAI
  • Options