Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Best way to have multiple, identical features in a model

øyvind_kaurstadøyvind_kaurstad Member Posts: 234 ✭✭✭
Being a CAD novice, I've got a question regarding modelling.

The other day I was drawing a circuit board (PCB) holder for two sandwiched circuit boards. The curcuit boards are connected with one connector, and sits in different heights.

Now, the holder is simple. It's a base plate with vertical standoffs at the hole posistions for the PCBs, and the standoffs have different heights (since there are two PCBs). The standoffs have a diameter that is larger than the PCB holes, and at the top of the standoffs I wanted to have snap-in mechanism. However, in the first iteration I just had a small cylindrical peg that would just keep the PCB in place sideways.

Now comes the question: This snap-in mechanism would be identical for all of the standoffs, and it would be tedious to re-draw it at each standoff. Creating the snap-in as a separate part therefore seems logical, but what is the correct way to copy and align this part to each standoff? Mate connectors?

Best Answers

Answers

• Options
    3dcad3dcad Member, OS Professional, Mentor Posts: 2,470 PRO
    You can create it as subassembly and mating is easy but if you wan't to stay in part studio you can use derive + transform with mate connectors. 
    //rami
  • Options