Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Any hints & tips on parametric design "best practice"? (in Onshape)

john_smith077john_smith077 Member Posts: 109 ✭✭
Hello

I am new to parametric design. I keep finding that when I go back and tweak my dimensions, that I am breaking the design.

Can anyone give me any tips on do's and don'ts / best practice of designing things to be re-sized.

Thanks

J

Comments

• colemancoleman OS Professional Posts: 244 PRO
    edited January 2016
    Make sure the sketch is fully defined (black). 
  • dennis_20dennis_20 Member Posts: 88 ✭✭✭
    Go through ALL the tutorials and help files you can find.  Pay attention to the techniques, not just the lesson objectives.