Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Moving parts of parts???

KenKen Member Posts: 1
Hello,
I am new to onshape and parametric software.
I use Rhino a bit and like it and am very interested in this cloud based parametric design - I do CAD for simple 3D printing models and have had good success.

Sorry if my question is very basic and explained somewhere but I am sure there is a simple answer....

I guess I need to understand the workflow in this style of software - Make individual parts in separate part studio tabs then put them together in an assembly?

Most of my modeling can probably be done in just a part studio tab but how does one move parts about in that tab?

E.g -
I create a rectangle and extrude and dimension it.
I then create another shape - lets say a cylinder and extrude and dimension that too - then want to place the cylinder on top of the cube in the exact center.

How do you move the cylinder around in the part studio tab?

I know I can make the rectangle and then draw a circle in the center on a face and extrude that and maybe that is exactly how I need to model in this parametric world - and that would be fine but I am just curious.....

In Rhino or Sketchup, etc - you could do it either way.

Cant find a way to move separate parts around in the part studio tab and do such thing as group - boolean cuts, etc...

Thanks and I hope I was clear....

Comments

• Options