Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

How to use Onshape in an aerospace/defense contractor enviroment

dave_allen78888dave_allen78888 Member Posts: 1
edited August 2016 in Community Support
 With the latest update now having enough document organization to be usable I would like to use Onshape professionally. I work as a programmer for a defense contractor we have over 100 machinist in which I need to collaborate with and feel that Onshape would be an ideal fit. Unfortunately the work is of a sensitive nature with regards to ITAR and the DoD. When I presented the concept of Onshape to management I was confronted with a flat NO! Not that anyone could explain why but that it's just safer not use Onshape. Therefore I need to clearly and verifiable explain how using OS isn't in violation of ITAR regulations.

My question to Onshape and the community: Is it possible to use Onshape in a aerospace/defense enviroment. and how do you explain/rationalize ITAR compliance.

Answers

• Options
    brucebartlettbrucebartlett Member, OS Professional, Mentor, User Group Leader Posts: 2,137 PRO
    Two-factor Authentication my be good for this. 

Will be interested to see how this case can be augured and if you can win. Ideally it's got to be safer than emailing file's if that's what you currently do. 

Can you post the ITAR or DoD reg's?

Engineer ı Product Designer ı Onshape Consulting Partner