Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Ben's Wishlist

Ben_MisegadesBen_Misegades Member Posts: 133 ✭✭✭
My background is ~10 years of SolidWorks in a professional environment, which means 50-60 hour work weeks, 75%+ of that time spent using SolidWorks. Mostly sheet metal design, but also solid and surface modeling, usually in the automotive and transportation industry.

In no particular order:

1. Planes in assemblies for mating purposes. I used to design buses. We used a base part that contained several sketches that controlled pretty much all of the overall dimensional geometry of the vehicle, as well as the location of major driveline components, etc. This base part also had dozens of planes based off of those sketches. Said base part was inserted into every major assembly and subassembly of the vehicle model, and then individual parts were mated to those sketches and planes. If we had to, say, adjust the floor height of the vehicle by 10mm, we could simply adjust one sketch dimension in the base part, and this change would propagate through every assembly containing the base part and move hundreds of individual parts, all in one fell swoop. I don't know how one would accomplish something like this in OS.