Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Some Basic Testing on Different Graphics cards and 32-bit/64-bit Chrome

daniel_cookdaniel_cook Member Posts: 48 PRO
Hi All - I'm pretty new to Onshape and have only really been using it for a few months and am new to 3D CAD in general.

The discussion came up today with a long time Solidworks user about Onshape's performance with large models and the hardware lean nature of working in the cloud. One of the things I find with Onshape is that if I need to import STEP files that the performance starts to go downhill. It's unavoidable for me because many of my suppliers work in Solidworks or Autodesk and I need to reference from detailed machine models for factory layouts, etc. Some of the STEP files are upwards to 100mb.

Tonight I did some testing and thought I'd share my results:

Internet Connection - 11ms ping, 25mbps down and 5mbps up (pretty average for Australia).

My laptop is an ASUS gaming model (Core i7-6700HQ, 8GB RAM) with both Intel HD 530 integrated and Nvidia 960M discrete so I was able to switch between both in Chrome for a comparison, confirming the active GPU with the System Check.

Intel HD 530 - 90 million triangles, 32 million lines
Nvidia 960M - 360 million triangles, 190 million lines

The first model I was using was an assembly with a combination of imported STEP + native Onshape modelling.

Model Stats
52511 faces
1576961 triangles